Section: Archived News Stories

Society Honors 2012 MRS Fall Meeting Graduate Student Award Winners

December 10th, 2012 ›


Rachel Fornataro
Materials Research Society

WARRENDALE, PA  - [December 10, 2012] - The Materials Research Society (MRS) announced the winners of the Graduate Student Awards on Wednesday, November 28, during the 2012 MRS Fall Meeting in Boston. Twenty-four graduate students were recognized for their academic achievements and current materials research, which exhibit a high level of excellence and distinction. Of the 242 applications processed this year, the 24 finalists were chosen on the merits of exceptional abilities and promise for significant future achievement in materials research. Gold or Silver Awards were decided based on oral or poster presentations given on the afternoon of Tuesday, November 27.

The Graduate Student Awards were presented at the Awards Ceremony Wednesday evening in the Grand Ballroom of the Sheraton Boston Hotel. Prizes consisted of $400 and a presentation plaque for the Gold Award winners and $200 and a certificate for the Silver Award winners. For more information, visit

Gold Awards

  • Seung Sae Hong, Stanford University
  • Manu Sebastian Mannoor, Princeton University
  • Katharine Jensen, Harvard University
  • Xingchen Ye, University of Pennsylvania
  • Seunghyun Lee, University of Michigan
  • Yingchao Yu, Cornell University
  • Jiayan Luo, Northwestern University    

 Silver Awards

  • Eric Appel, University of Cambridge
  • Timothy Miller, Stanford University
  • Jennifer Choy, Harvard University
  • Changhyun Pang, Seoul National University
  • Jian Cui, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Riju Singhal, Drexel University
  • Karthik Jambunathan, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • John Thomas, University of Michigan
  • Jimmy John, Cornell University
  • Andrew Thron, University of California at Davis
  • Kristy Jost, Drexel University
  • Wenzhuo Wu, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Minu Kim, The University of Tokyo
  • Kaylie Young, Northwestern University
  • Oh Seok Kwon, Seoul National University
  • Xueyi Zhang, University of Minnesota
  • Yuerui Lu, Cornell University