Section: Archived News Stories

Cornell respresented on NY-BEST Board of Directors

March 10th, 2010 ›

On Wednesday March 10, members of NY-BEST gathered for the First Annual Meeting and Conference to review progress during the past year and discuss future opportunities.

NYSERDA is pleased to introduce the Board of Directors elected by their members at this meeting and hope you will join us in extending a welcome to our new board.

Elected for a one-year term:
Sanjoy Banerjee – Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of the Energy Institute, City University of New York
Julius Cirin – Vice President, Corporate Communications Officer, Ultralife Corporation
Richard Fioravanti – Director, Storage Applications & Support, KEMA, Inc.
Cathy Hill – Counsel, Whiteman, Osterman & Hanna
Robert Jaworski – Chief Strategy Officer, Ioxus, Inc.
Wolf von Maltzahn – Associate VP for Research, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Hank McGlynn – President, AEYCH LLC

Elected for a two-year term:
Aubrey Braz – Vice President, Consolidated Edison Company of New York
Michael Field – Executive Vice President, Operations and Engineering, Raymond Corporation
Matt Fronk – Director, Center for Sustainable Mobility, Rochester Institute of Technology
Rich Hopf – General Manager Transport Systems, BAE Systems, Inc.
Glen Merfeld – Manager, Chemical Energy Systems Laboratory, GE Global Research
Jim Misewich – Associate Laboratory Director, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Paul Mutolo – Director of External Partnerships, Energy Materials Center, Cornell University
M. Stanley Whittingham – Director, Institute for Materials Research and Professor of Chemistry, Binghamton University
Permanent Directors:
Frank Murray – President & CEO, NYSERDA (New York State Energy Research and Development Authority)  
Ed Reinfurt – Executive Director, NYSTAR (New York State Foundation for Science, Technology and Innovation)
Full information about the conference proceedings will be availalbe to NY-BEST members shortly.   We will also be soliciting volunteers and input for board committees and advisory groups to guide the consortium as it evolves.

Jason Doling
NYSERDA Project Manager, Battery and Energy Storage Technology Consortium