Section: People

Profile Photo

Darrell Schlom

Materials Science and Engineering

Darrell Schlom is a Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Cornell University.  After receiving a B.S. degree from Caltech, he did graduate work at Stanford University receiving an M.S. in Electrical Engineering and a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering.  He was then a post-doc at IBM's research lab in Zurich, Switzerland in the oxide superconductors and novel materials group managed by Nobel Prize winners J. Georg Bednorz and K. Alex Müller.  In 1992 he joined the faculty at Penn State in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, where he spent 16 years before joining the faculty at Cornell in 2008.  His research interests involve the replacement of SiO2 as the gate dielectric in MOSFETs and the heteroepitaxial growth and characterization of oxide thin films, especially those with functional properties (ferroelectric, piezoelectric, ferromagnetic, or a combination of these properties), including their epitaxial integration with semiconductors.  His group synthesizes these oxide heterostructures using molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE).  He has published over 350 papers and 8 patents resulting in an h-index of 46 and over 9,600 citations.  He was awarded a Semiconductor Research Corporation Fellowship for his graduate studies at Stanford, the Ross N. Tucker AIME Electronics Materials Award in 1989, an IBM Invention Achievement Award in 1991, an ONR Young Investigator Award in 1993, the NSF Young Investigator Award in 1993, an Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship in 1999, the American Association for Crystal Growth Young Author Award in 1999, the ASM International Bradley Stoughton Award for Young Teachers in 1999, a Semiconductor Research Corporation Inventor Recognition Award in 2004, the Penn State Faculty Scholar Medal in Engineering in 2006, and the MRS Medal in 2008.  He was also selected for the Defense Science Study Group for 2004-2006, elected Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2003 and the Materials Research Society in 2010, served on the MRS Board of Directors from 2005-2007, and was named Distinguished Professor by Penn State in 2007.